Sacred Heart Church

203 East Garfield Avenue ~ PO Box 285

Gettysburg, SD  57442

Phone: 605-765-2161

Email: sacred@venturecomm.net

Weekend Masses:

Saturday: 6:30 pm

Sunday: 11:00 am

First Sunday of the Month

Sunday: 9:00 am

 

Memorial Day through Mid-August

at West Whitlock Resort

NO River Mass

due to COVID-19

Weekend Masses

Funeral Masses

RCIA Classes

Parish Events

 

Live & Archived 

2nd Sunday
of Advent
Prepare the way of the Lord

Weekday Mass on Tuesday, Wednesday & Friday @ 8:30am - Thursday at 4:00pm.

 See the current Parish Bulletin for full details!

Confirmation Class Schedule
Sundays 7:00-8:15 pm in the parish hall
HEALTH RESTRICTIONS - Please attend in person - UNLESS you are feeling ill in ANY way, have COVID-19, have been exposed to COVID-19 or are under quarantine due to COVID-19.
All Confirmation classes will be webcast for those who can not attend due to the above health restrictions.  Those NOT ATTENDING IN PERSON are responsible for obtaining any class handouts.
Sunday, October 4                              Existence of God

Sunday, October 18                            The 3 Christian Creeds & the Nicene Creed Explained

Sunday, November 1                          Old Testament – Genesis & Creation – Exodus & Deuteronomy

Sunday, November 15                        The 613 Commandments -- CANCELLED -- Fr. Kopel has COVID-19

Thanksgiving – Thursday, November 26

Sunday, December 6                          Leviticus, Numbers, Judges and Prophets  NEW DATE!

Sunday, December 20                        Writings (Psalms, Proverbs, Etc.) & Deutero-Canonical Books

 

Christmas – Friday, December 25

Sunday, January 10, 2021                 The Synoptic Gospels - Matthew, Mark & Luke

Sunday, January 17                            The Gospel of John verses the Synoptics

Sunday, January 31                            The Acts of Apostles and Paul’s 13 Letters

Sunday, February 7                             Pastoral Letters and Revelation

Sunday, February 21                           Sacraments Introduction & Baptism

Sunday, March 7                                  Eucharist

Sunday, March 21                                Confirmation, Penance & Anointing

Sunday, April 11                                  Marriage & Holy Orders

Sunday, April 25                                  Angels, Demons, Heaven, Hell and Purgatory

Sunday, May 9                                     Sacramentals and Tour of the Church

Confirmation Date and Place             Saturday, June 12, 2021 @ 4:00 pm @ SHC - Gettysburg

 

The permission to not attend Sunday Mass Has been RESCINDED!  Effective immediately, all Catholic are again obligated to attend Sunday Mass - UNLESS you are at high risk due to serious illness, advanced age, compromised immune system,  COPD, heart disease, etc.

Religious Education 

Classes Started Sept. 23rd

Grades 1-4 @ 3:45-5:00 pm

Grades 5 @ 7:00-8:15 pm weekly

Grades 6-9 @ 7:00-8:15 pm monthly

Grades 10-12 meet biweekly on Sunday evenings from 7-8 pm (Confirmation class)

Please note that face masks and hand sanitizer will be required, please have your child go directly to their class. Snack offered in class except on early release days.


Click here for the online learning portal. If you have not provided your student's email address, please email us for access.

Sacred Heart Church